Skip navigation

Here’s an interesting idea that I recently came across in an article:

In the long run, we can not triumph over procrastination by willpower alone.

In other words, it is not enough for me to force myself to work when I don’t feel like working.  In the short term I will get work done; but in the long term, my “blocks” that cause me to procrastinate are still there.  My negative thoughts and emotions, temporarily put in their place by force of will, will eventually overwhelm me and knock me back into my old bad habits.  I have certainly experienced this cycle (it’s usually not willpower but fear (of the deadline, of the boss) that kicks me into temporary action).

“If you feel stuck with any goal,” the author advises, “watch your emotions.”

In order to beat procrastination, for sure and for good, I have to deal with the “thought errors” that lead me to procrastinate in the first place.  I need to be working from a position of passion, not willpower or fear.

That makes a lot of sense.

.

One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By Ideas « Vasta Diem on 24 Sep 2009 at 2:00 pm

    […] The Day" — A Blog About Procrastination AboutMaxims & Tactics « Willpower Is Not Enough Something To Look Forward To […]

Leave a Reply

