Skip navigation

Someone on the CBC this morning called today “the REAL start-of-the-new-year.”  So true.  The day after Labour Day, the unofficial end of summer, the first day of school.  We’ve had our first cool weather in months, suddenly there are yellow leaves on the ground, and this morning it even smells like autumn.  Today begins the sickening and deceptively short slide into December (I was disgusted to receive my first Christmas catalogue a couple of weeks ago, in mid-August.  Fuck off, retailers!!).

I REALLY treated the whole summer like a working holiday.  It’s time to re-establish a routine.  Looking back to the previous post, I see that I tried to do that in August, too.  I also REALLY want to become more efficient with my time so that I can start practicing regularly and taking music lessons again.

Here’s the plan:

  • Exercise, Shower and Dress before breakfast with the kids at 7:30am (no more half-asleep-until-noon Johnny).
  • one To-Do List.
  • make a Daily Plan, every day.
  • I can play only after my Daily Plan is complete!

Some good habits to help me achieve all this:

  • schedule regular breaks – get up from the computer and do something physical.
  • close email apps when I’m supposed to be working.
  • keep a list of “personal stuff to do later,” instead of interrupting myself when I think of it.
  • use the power of FOCUS; avoid unnecessary multi-tasking.
  • going back and reading older posts in this blog is proving helpful, too.

Starting now.  Wish me luck.

-Johnny 0.

One Comment

  1. Progress, Day 1:

    AM: worked well. Caught up on correspondence, organized to-do’s into a single list, got some administrative stuff done. Ready to tackle the “real work.”
    PM: fell apart. Goofed off, avoided real work. Had a sugary snack, got a headache, took a nap.


Leave a Reply

