Skip navigation

Today I’m a bit sleepy and my neck and shoulders are already tight.  I know that if I spend all day at the keyboard today, I’m going to end up with neck spasms and a headache.  But I still want to have a productive day, so here’s the plan.  I’m going to work in 20-minute bursts, and I’m going to take my breaks AWAY FROM THE COMPUTER.  No PC gaming, Facebook or long personal emails today.

Ideas for breaks: Go for a walk, practice bass, do a little housework, gardening, (I’ve already done my exercise for the day), go for another walk…

I’ll be darting in, hovering for 20 minutes of focused activity, and darting away again.  I’m going to call today’s plan: Working Hummingbird Style.

If I can be disciplined about this, I can still get as much work done as in a typical day.  Only my Facebook friends will notice a difference.  😉

-J

2 Comments

  1. Noon: Well so much for that idea! My first round of work took 2 hours (I ignored the 20-min timer). I just don’t like taking breaks once I’m immersed in something. At least my neck hasn’t tightened up yet. Okay, taking a break now to soak up some sun and the sounds of nature. -J

  2. Next Day: The day didn’t go according to plan at all. I worked on non-work stuff, I took breaks, I goofed off, then I did a marathon work session in the last 2 hours of the day. Yah I got my work done, but the day was a failure as far as work habits are concerned. This has been the story of my life lately. I’ll try again today.

    At least that expected headache never materialized.


Leave a Reply

