Skip navigation

When my work habits get really bad and I reach a crisis point, I address my procrastination directly: I read a book, or re-read my notes or my blog or something.  And I take action against my procrastination directly: I institute some new plan or daily ritual to keep myself on track.

It works for a while.  But I eventually stop.  And then my work habits get worse.  Rinse and repeat.

Why do I stop with the tactics that keep me on track?  Because, when I’m being productive, I think: “I have so much work to do, I can’t spare the time to do my anti-procrastination thing today.  And anyway, ‘I’m cured,’ I don’t need to keep doing it”.  WRONG.  I have to remember that this thought is always wrong.

Recovering alcoholics call themselves “recovering alcoholics” forever after.  They never say “I used to be an alcoholic,” no matter how many years it’s been since they last got drunk.  They never say “I’m cured.”

I should think of procrastination the same way.

Leave a Reply

